Tuesday, March 28, 2023

1954 - Johnny Thomson Wins AAA Inaugural at Reading

Johnny Thomson

Reading, Penn. (March 28, 1954) - Johnny Thomson, of Lowell, Mass., won the 15-mile feature event yesterday at the Reading Fairgrounds when he took the lead at the start and stayed there during the entire race.

A crowd of 31,689 was on hand for the Eastern AAA inaugural auto racing program and saw Thomson turn in a torrid 13 minute and 5 second performance to shatter the previous track record of 13 minutes and 10 seconds, established by the late Bill Schindler on June 18, 1950.

Thomson was driving a black Offenhauser and finished a half-lap in front of Wally Campbell, Trenton, N.J., and Jiggs Peters, Plainfield, N.J., who was third. Finishing fourth was Joe Sostilio, the 1953 Eastern AAA dirt track champion and he was followed by Mike Nazaruk, East Meadows, N.Y., and Bill Holland, 1949 Indianapolis winner, formerly of Reading and now of Indianapolis.

Both Tommy Hinnershitz and Ernie McCoy were forced out of action due to car trouble.

One accident marred the program when Bert Fleischman of Buffalo, N.Y., spun and hit the inside fence on the first turn during the second heat race. He was admitted to the Reading Hospital with fractured ribs, shock and abrasions of the chest.

Results -

Heat #1 - Jiggs Peters
Heat #2 - Joe Sostilio
Heat #3 -Joe Barzda
Consolation - Al Herman
Feature –
1. Johnny Thomson
2. Wally Campbell
3. Jiggs Peters
4. Joe Sostilio
5. Mike Nazaruk
6. Bill Holland
7. Al Herman
8. Joe Barzda
9. Dick Linder
10.Tommy Hinnershitz
11.Bert Fleishman
12.Ernie McCoy

No comments:

Post a Comment