Monday, June 22, 2015

1982 – Smith Cruises to Columbus ARCA Score

Columbus, Ohio (June 22, 1982) - Marvin Smith sailed to victory in the ARCA-sanctioned “Columbus 100” at Columbus motor Speedway on Friday night for his first victory in the 1982 Automobile Racing Club of America Talladega Super Car Series campaign.

Scott Stovall, the ARCA series point leader, nipped Bob Dotter by less than 6 inches on the final lab to take second place. The pair finished around eight car lengths behind the winner.

Lee Raymond, who won the last round at Flat Rock earlier this month, finished fourth, surrendering the lead to Smith on lap 34. Bobby Jacks and Larry Smith, Marvin's brother, finished fifth and sixth on the same lap as the leader.

Stovall, Dotter, Raymond, Jacks, Larry Smith, Rick Roland and Jack Wallace dies for positions to through eight to route the 100-lapper around the CMS third-mile paved oval as Marvin Smith was able to open up a lead but never fully break away from the pack.

Roland and Wallace ran with leaders for much the day before tire problems forced both to the pits late in the race, putting and several laps down to leaders.

A total of 20 cars were on hand for the event, which was number five for the tour. The features saw five caution flag periods.

Marvin Smith, at two-time track champion here and two-time ARCA national champion, piloted his Buick Regal to the quickest lap, 15.311 seconds, of the six cars eclipsing the old ARCA record set in 1979.

Results –

1.     Marvin Smith
2.     Scott Stovall
3.     Bob Dotter
4.     Lee Raymond
5.     Bobby Jacks
6.     Larry Smith
7.     Delmar Clark
8.     Terry Stineman
9.     Jerry Churchill
10.  Rick Roland
11.   Joe Adams
12.   Jack Wallace
13.    Darrell Basham
14.    Jerry Bowman
15.    Jim Vaughn Jr.
16.     Ned Tracy
17.     Jim Cushman
     18.     Stuart Huffman
19.     Craig Jackson
20.     Gordon Blankenship

No comments:

Post a Comment