Thursday, July 23, 2020

1965 – Larson Drives to First Place

Jud Larson

Kansas City, Kan. (July 23, 1965) – Jud Larson, a former Kansas Citian now living in Indianapolis, Ind., took the lead on the third lap and won going away in the 30-lap feature of the United States Auto Club sprint cars at Lakeside Stadium in Kansas City.

Larson moved in front after Greg Weld of Kansas City and Johnny Rutherford of Fort Worth, Tex., locked wheels and both spun out. Carl Williams, also of Kansa City, made an early challenge but Larson refused to give up the lead.

A.J. Foyt of Houston, Tex., and Mario Andretti of Nazareth, Penn., two of the most popular drivers on the USAC circuit, chose not to appear for the races.

A crowd of 7,500 saw 17 cars compete for a purse of $6,350 and in the process, re-write the record books.

Weld, the point leader in USAC competition, set a lap record of 22.88 seconds in time trials and a heat race record of 3 minutes and 5.31 seconds in the first heat. He bettered times of 23.44 seconds set by Don Branson in 1963 and 3 minutes and 8.5 seconds set by Jim Hurtubise the same year.

Ray Lee Goodwin, Kansas City’s super-modified champion, got a chance to drive because of the shortage of drivers. Goodwin placed second in his heat race after leading four laps. He finished a very creditable ninth in the feature race.

Results –

Heat #1 – Greg Weld
Heat #2 – Johnny Rutherford
Heat #3 – Jerry Daniels
Semi-main – Ronnie Duman
Feature –
1. Jud Larson
2. Jerry Daniels
3. Carl Williams
4. Roger McCluskey
5. Don Branson
6. Bobby Unser
7. Red Riegel
8. Ronnie Duman
9. Ray Lee Goodwin
10. Bobby Black

No comments:

Post a Comment