Monday, August 20, 2018

1961 – Sedalia Sprint Main Event to McElreath

Jim McElreath accepts congratulations after his win at Sedalia. Promoter Al Sweeney is to the right.

Sedalia, Mo. (August 20, 1961) – Arlington, Texas’s Jimmy McElreath staved off the challenges of Wichita’s Harold Leep and teammate Buzz Rose to win the IMCA-sanctioned 25-lap sprint car feature over a hard, slick state fairgrounds track on Sunday afternoon before 15,000 hot race fans.

The Arlington, Texas speedster started the #71 Dizz Wilson Offy on the pole and dove into the first turn ahead of Leep, who was piloting the Chet Wilson Chevy. Rose stabbed his #70 Dizz Wilson Offy into the corner ahead of Colby Scroggins to set up a three-way chase to the checkers.

Leep and Rose both hung onto McElreath’s tailpipe in the narrow grove, waiting for the Texas Tornado to bobble, something that never happened.

Results –

  1. Jim McElreath
  2. Harold Lepp
  3. Buzz Rose
  4. Buz Barton
  5. Colby Scroggins
  6. Jerry Blundy

No comments:

Post a Comment