Tuesday, August 25, 2015

1974 – Merryfield wins second straight Fair race

Joe Merryfield of Des Moines, Iowa, won his second IMCA stock car feature in a row at the Iowa State Fairgrounds in Des Moines, Iowa, on August 25, 1974. Presenting the checkers is flagman Larry Shipley and Merryfield is being congratulated by IMCA secretary Lyle Kreps. — AMR Photo
Des Moines, Iowa (August 25, 1974) - Joe Merryfield and Don Hoffman, both of Des Moines, staged a rematch of last Sunday’s battle with Merryfield again victorious in the International Motor Contest Association sanctioned late-model stock car feature race at the Iowa State Fair Sunday.

Merryfield, who beat Hoffman a week ago on lap, led all 50 laps in his 1972 Monte Carlo for the $750 prize.

“I thought about last Week when I entered the first turn of the last lap,” said Merryfield, referring to the spot where he passed Hoffman. “I slowed down - I didn’t know how close he was, but I figured he would have to follow me through.”

As it turned out, Hoffman was only a few feet behind after a yellow flag came out because of a spin with three laps remaining, eliminating a Merryfield lead which had stretched to a straightaway at one point.

Bill Rice of Des Moines, who won Saturday’s late model feature, passed George Barton of Ankeny on lap 42 and drove his ‘73 Camaro to third. Barton was fourth and Larry Wasserfort of Waterloo finished fifth in a ‘73 Chevelle.

Bob Kosiski of Omaha, Neb., recorded the fastest qualifying time of 25.87 seconds. In the feature, Kosiski was running third when the left rear tire of his ‘72 Chevelle blew on the tenth lap. The car turned on its side in turn three, but Kosiski was uninjured.


Results –

Fast Time: Bob Kosiski (25.87)
First Heat: Bill Rice, Des Moines
Second Heat: Bill Schwader, Pleasant Valley
Trophy Dash: Joe Merryfield, Des Moines
Consolation: Don Hoffman, Des Moines

  1. Joe Merryfield
  2. Don Hoffman
  3. Bill Rice
  4. George Barton, Ankeny
  5. Larry Wasserfort, Waterloo
  6. Ed Sanger, Waterloo
  7. Bill Schwader
  8. Gary Lindgren, Ogden
  9. Ken Davidson, Indianola
  10. Dave Farren, Des Moines

No comments:

Post a Comment