Tuesday, July 15, 2014

1981 - History repeats itself for Walton at Oskaloosa

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 15, 1981) – History repeated itself in the Pepsi-Mountain Dew Special stock car event on July 15, when Ken Walton of Viola, Iowa won the late model feature, nipping Kenny Fenn of Washington, Iowa by six inches at the finish line.

It was Walton’s first win of the season, although the worse he has done this season was finish fifth, “This happened to me to me three years ago, too,” said the happy Walton. “I won my first feature of the season in this event and then won the World 100 later that fall. I hope history repeats itself again.”

Walton, who earned $1,000 for taking the 35-lap feature at the half-mile Southern Iowa Raceway, also regained the point lead in the National Speedway Contest Associations' late model standings.

Fenn, the point leader at Des Moines, started the race on the pole position and quickly took a commanding lead in his 1981 Corvette. By the seventh circuit, he had a straightaway lead over second place Jerry Pilcher of Ottumwa, Iowa.

On the 11th lap, Curt Houge of Ames, Iowa, spun out on the muddy track and he was hit by Johnny Johnson of Morning Sun, Iowa. During the caution, Fenn replaced a right rear tire.

He lost his stagger and some speed. However, Walton was unable to do much except keep pace with Fenn and Pilcher after the restart. Walton did manage to slip by Pilcher on lap 18 and proceeded to zero in on Fenn.

On lap 30, Fenn and Walton encountered lap traffic and Walton made numerous attempts to get by. On the white flag lap, Walton tried to get inside of Fenn for the top spot going through turns three and four but wasn’t able to complete the pass. But as they both exited the final turn, Fenn’s Corvette got a little too high and Walton ducked low, with Walton winning by the narrowest of margins.

Pilcher would finish third followed by Ron Jackson of Burlington in fourth, Houge in fifth and Curt Hansen of Dike, Iowa in sixth.


Results –

First Heat: Kenny Fenn, Washington, Iowa
Second Heat: Jerry Pilcher, Ottumwa, Iowa
Third Heat: Tom Hearst, Wilton, Iowa
Challenge Race: Tom Hearst

  1. Ken Walton, Viola, Iowa
  2. Kenny Fenn
  3. Jerry Pilcher
  4. Ron Jackson, Burlington
  5. Curt Houge, Ames, Iowa
  6. Curt Hansen, Dike, Iowa
  7. Jerry Roberts, Prairie City, Iowa
  8. Craig Jacobs, Des Moines
  9. Tony Stewart, Washington, Iowa
  10. Bill Moyer Jr., Des Moines    

No comments:

Post a Comment