Stay up to date with our new Facebook webpage.

Monday, September 24, 2012

1972 - Iowa driver wins Kansas State Fair finale

Irv Janey is joined by the Kansas State Fair Queen and NSI official Woody Brinkman after winning the 50-lap feature in Topeka, Kan. - Marlin Darr Photo

Topeka, Kan. (September 24, 1972) - Irv Janey of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, won the 50-lap feature race in the finale of the IMCA late model car racing at the Kansas State Fair Sunday afternoon.

Janey, driving a 1970 Plymouth, came from the third position at the end of the lap 11 to take the lead for good. He finished the race in 21 minutes and 51.35 seconds. Janey was top driver in the time trials with a time of 26.18 seconds.

Gordon Blankenship, who finished second in the 50-lap feature Saturday, was runner-up again Sunday. Mike Lutkie, Wichita, was third, followed by Gary Brooks, Grand Prairie, Tex., fourth, and Jerre Wichman, Kansas City, fifth.

Janey qualified for the feature with a third place finish in the first heat. He also placed second in the trophy dash behind Blankenship. The latter was timed in 2 minutes and 13.02 seconds in winning the dash.

In the first heat Brooke won in a time of 4 minutes and 32.40 seconds, with Wichman second, and Jim Dreasher of Topeka fourth.

Galen Schaeffer of Topeka won the second heat in 4 minutes and 37.51 seconds. Carl VanderWal of Ames, Iowa, finished second, Gaylord Lippert, Albuquerque, N.M., third and Tom Frasher, Jefferson City, Mo. fourth.

In the consolation race, Jim Hager, Liberty, Mo., edged out Blankenship for the top spot. Thurman Lovejoy, Kansas City, was third and Jim Still, Topeka, fourth.

Feature Results –

1. Irv Janey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2. Gordon Blankenship, Keokuk, Iowa
3. Mike Lutkie, Wichita, Kan.
4. Gary Brooks, Grand Prairie, Tex.
5. Jerre Wichman, Kansas City, Mo.
6. Vic Elson, Ash Grove, Mo.
7. Tom Frasher, Jefferson City, Mo.
8. Jim Still, Topeka, Kan.
9. Don Ely, Wichita, Kan.
10. Thurman Lovejoy, Kansas City, Kan.

No comments:

Post a Comment